Return to Headlines

Midlakes Theatre Experience Recognized for 'Excellence'

photo of elf the musical

MAY 6, 2022 — Midlakes Theatre Experience brought home several awards from the Rochester Broadway Theatre League’s annual Stars of Tomorrow competition celebrating the best in high school musical theatre. 

»PHOTO GALLERY: Elf The Musical (2022)

Midlakes won for its spring production of “Elf, The Musical,” a musical adaption of the 2003 movie starring Will Ferrell as Buddy the Elf as he sets on a journey of self-discovery. The cast was recognized with the following awards:

  • Excellence in Acting Ensemble
  • Excellence in Dance Ensemble
  • Excellence in Production Crew
  • Excellence in Production Design
  • Overall Excellence in a Musical Production
  • Aidan Conover, as Buddy the Elf, was awarded an Overall Excellence in a Leading Role

The cast captured the audience’s attention in its performance of the musical number, “The Story of Buddy the Elf.”

Midlakes was also commended during the ceremony for offering recent graduates the chance to return and perform their roles from the postponed 2020 production. These students were asked to step forward and receive applause for their participation. 

The 24th annual Stars of Tomorrow program, held May 5 at the Auditorium Theatre in Rochester, recognizes the efforts and accomplishments of theatre programs throughout the Rochester region. Schools and students were chosen based on the highest point values given by the Stars of Tomorrow judges, who travel to each high school’s production to evaluate shows.

The complete list of winners from the Stars of Tomorrow competition go to

2021-2022 Cast list 

Aidan Conover (Buddy)
Kyra Guest (Jovie)
Erik Dillon (Walter Hobbs)
Nicole Szalay (Emily Hobbs)
Gavin Ruggles (Michael Hobbs)
Mara Deisering (Deb)
Coby Reals (Manager)
Zachary Edgemon (Mr. Greenway)
Troy Trzeciak (Spoiled Boy)
Stefan Uveges (Santa Claus)
Sarah Brown (Mrs. Claus)
Shane Thompson (Chadwick)
Carter Maslyn (Matthews)

Shelby Balliet                                                                                    
Heather Belcher                                                                                 
Sarah Brown                                                                                      
Olivia Fullerton                                                                                 
Elena Graf       
Alaina Krenzer 
Jennifer Petracchi 
Breanna Plante
Hannah White 
Kaylee Williams
Zachary Edgemon 
Carter Maslyn 
Shane Thompson  

Stage Crew 
Hailey Barber
Carissa Brooks
Adriana DeRuyter
Orianna Carrasquel
Karen Heffron
Hunter Knorr
Jameson Krenzer
Finn Liberati
Amalia Maslyn
Stevie Mitchelson
Claudia Polisoto
Ella Schreader
Jonah Spangenberg 

Sound/Lights: Jayden Baker, Dan Jankowski, Josh Newton  
Orchestra: Johnathan Finewood, Samantha Baker
Hair: Keatley Krenzer, Trinity Traster

photo of stars of tomorrow

photo of stars of tomorrow2